Posted in 2019 Home School Review Crew Posts, Homeschool Review Crew Posts, Homeschooling, Online Homeschool Programs, Uncategorized

Review of Calvert Homeschool Online

Untitled design

I have always been curious about Calvert Homeschool since I have heard their name in homeschool circles for years.  When they offered their Calvert Homeschool Online program with access to all the courses, I knew I wanted to check it out!  Calvert Homeschool Online provides a completely online experience that only requires a solid Internet connection.

For this review, we received a Family Subscription to Calvert Homeschool Online for up to three students.  Since we had already started our school year, I planned on us using this curriculum more as a supplement to what we were already using versus it being our primary curriculum.

As a firm believer in the idea that you are never too old to learn, I created a student account for myself as well as our son and daughter who are in high school.  One feature I really love about the set up of Calvert is that we had access to all of the online courses for all of the grades.  So for myself, I was able to choose the high school courses that most interested me.  So I elected to do Geometry,  English II, U.S. History – Reconstruction to Present, Pre-Calculus (so I can brush up on my skills before our son gets there, and Integrated Physics and Chemistry.

img_0716

I assigned our sixteen-year-old daughter to Integrated Physics and Chemistry, English I, World Geography, and Algebra I.  However, I wound up deciding last week to have her move from Algebra I back to Mathematics 8 just to provide some reinforcement. My one desire would be for a high school math course for students who do not need the typical college-bound, in-depth math pathway.  For our son who was 18 at the time we started, I assigned English IV, Government, and Physics. He is someone who plans to go to college in the future, so the math tract is perfect.

img_0717

I love having the flexibility to change due dates or curriculum choices if needed.  Another feature I loved was the ability to decide for each student what features I wanted them to have access to such as answer keys and unlimited chances.  I believe in teaching to mastery so these ideas work for our family’s philosophy.

img_0718

Each lesson contains videos, text, the ability to do flashcards or spelling bees if you select those choices, and more.  Our family felt the videos were well-done and easy to follow.  My family felt the work was challenging enough to be interesting without being so difficult that my children became frustrated.

img_0719

In addition to the student log-ins, there is a parent log-in that allows homeschool parents to set up the school year, assign courses, as well as create reports.  Some of the reports that can be created include daily work reports, report cards, and grade reports. With just a few clicks any of these reports can be created for any student you want to select. Parents also have the ability to reschedule a single course for a student or all the courses for a student.  Because let’s be real, as homeschooling families life happens and sometimes we do not get through everything we want to do.

You can find Calvert Homeschool Media at the following links:

Facebook: www.facebook.com/CalvertHomeschool
Instagram: www.instagram.com/calverthomeschool
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/CalvertHomeschool/

So if you are looking for the freedom and flexibility of an online homeschool curriculum, I suggest you check out Calvert Homeschool Online program with access to all the courses for yourself.

Other members of the Home School Review Crew are sharing their thoughts about Calvert Homeschool Online this week, so click here or on the graphic below to read more reviews by the Crew.

 

Author:

We are a Christian family who homeschooled our children from the time our oldest was 10 until the time our youngest graduated. We have retired from the military and are now exploring our next great adventure. We currently live in eastern North Carolina. I enjoy Bible journaling, reading, crocheting, scrapbooking and quilting. I am beginning to attempt art journaling. I have a Google Career Certificate in Project Management, and am working towards becoming a Salesforce Business Administrator.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.