Posted in Art, Electives, history, Home School Review Crew Posts, Uncategorized

Review of The Master and His Apprentices: Art History from a Christian Perspective

img_0724

Looking for homeschool art history curriculum?  Let me tell you about The Master and His Apprentices: Art History from a Christian Perspective created by The Master and His Apprentices.  With a daughter who loves everything about art, I am always on the lookout for new art programs that will inspire and motivate our daughter.  For this review we received the downloadable version of this curriculum.  We received Print/Photocopy rights for our family.  I really appreciate this feature.  It means if our older sons wanted to do this program, they also could.

The Master and His Apprentices: Art History from a Christian Perspective offers a product that is suitable for adults, high school students, parents and artists in a wonderfully inspiring program.  For this review, we received the Digital Edition of the Textbook and Teacher’s Guide.  With the textbook being 380 pages and the Teacher’s Guide being 116 pages, I decided it was in our family’s best interest to download the textbook to our iPad and then print out the Teacher’s Guide.   I made this decision because the textbook contains a tremendous amount of artwork which is in color.  I felt like reading the textbook on our tablet would work fine for our family.

The course is designed for a chapter a week.  My original intention was for our daughter and I to work through the course together.  Even though I claim a limited to non-existent talent in art, this course really excited me.  This course is meant to be a full high school credit when completed.  I love that there is no nudity or other objectionable material included.

The Teacher’s Guide includes what to read, discussion questions, student worksheets, exams and more.  It includes instructions for teachers in classroom settings, Home school parents, record keeping forms (including attendance and grade sheets),a syllabus, terms to describe art, Art History Paper Instructions, weekly discussion question worksheets and exams along with an answer key.

 

I decided the best way to approach The Master and His Apprentices was for my daughter and I to read the textbook on our own and then discuss the worksheets and other questions in the Teacher’s Guide.  This Christian Art History textbook covers an introduction to art, Creation, Ancient Cultures, Classical Antiquity, Middle Ages, the Renissance, and Baroque Era & Beyond.  There are also appendixes that includes essays, a period chart, a timeline, pieces by location, terms to describe art, and even an index.

Because of some things going on in our life for the past few weeks that involved me doing a lot of driving, I decided to have her ride with me and we discussed the material orally rather than having her complete the worksheets by hand.  I felt this gave us the opportunity to go more in depth than what would have happened on paper.  Now that life has settled down, we will probably use a combination of oral and written formats for the worksheets.  Then after we were home, she filled out the worksheets.All of the questions for the worksheets are open-ended rather than multiple choice which I like; since it makes her think more. For the exams there are matching, multiple choice, fill-in-the-blanks, and short essay questions.  The first exam comes at the end of Chapter 7, so we are not quite there yet.  Here is a completed worksheet.

 

As our daughter and I worked through the chapters, I feel like we both enjoyed a greater appreciation of how art and history work together.  We also loved the variety of artistic works included in the textbook.

 

 

You can find The Master and His Apprentices on social media at the following links:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/The-Master-and-His-Apprentices-245504999349223/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/themasterandhisapprentices/boards/

My daughter and I are really enjoying The Master and His Apprentices: Art History from a Christian Perspective.   So if you are looking for a homeschool art history curriculum, check it out for yourself.  If you would like to read reviews by other members of the Home School Review Crew, click here or on the graphic below.

img_0725

320crew20disclaimer202016_zpscwpb9ywe

Author:

We are a Christian family who homeschooled our children from the time our oldest was 10 until the time our youngest graduated. We have retired from the military and are now exploring our next great adventure. We currently live in eastern North Carolina. I enjoy Bible journaling, reading, crocheting, scrapbooking and quilting. I am beginning to attempt art journaling. I have a Google Career Certificate in Project Management, and am working towards becoming a Salesforce Business Administrator.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.