Posted in Book Reviews, Celebrate Lit Reviews

Review and Giveaway for Common

common FB BannerAbout the Book

Book:  Common

Author: Laurie Lucking

Genre: YA Fantasy

Release Date: February 14, 2018

Common-coverOnly one person knows of the plot against the royal family and cares enough to try to stop it—the servant girl they banished.

Leah spends her days scrubbing floors, polishing silver, and meekly curtsying to nobility. Nothing distinguishes her from the other commoners serving at the palace, except her red hair.

And her secret friendship with Rafe, the Crown Prince of Imperia.

But Leah’s safe, ordinary world begins to splinter. Rafe’s parents announce his betrothal to a foreign princess, and she unearths a plot to overthrow the royal family. When she reports it without proof, her life shatters completely when the queen banishes her for treason.

Harbored by an unusual group of nuns, Leah must secure Rafe’s safety before it’s too late. But her quest reveals a villain far more sinister than an ambitious nobleman with his eye on the throne.

Can a common maidservant summon the courage to fight for her dearest friend?

 

Click here to get your copy.

img_0888

What a story Common is!  With royalty, servants, banishment, and apparent plots to kill a royal family, this book has a lot to offer.  Leah and Rafe grew up together in the palace and became friends event though she was a servant and he was a prince.  The strength of character and determination Leah showed even though she was young command my attention while I was reading.

The relationship between Leah and her mother touched my heart.  I also appreciated the relationships Leah had with Clara (the head housekeeper) and the other girls she worked with in her different jobs.

The nuns who took Leah in after her banishment added a depth and dramatic side to this story.  I had a feeling more was true about the nuns than what I knew.  I loved how this story ended, but I refuse to ruin the ending for you.  So if you want to find out if this story has a happily ever after ending or not, check it out for yourself.

I received a copy of this book for my fair and honest review.

About the Author

Laurie Lucking HeadshotAn avid reader practically since birth, Laurie Lucking discovered her passion for writing after leaving her career as an attorney to become a stay-at-home mom. When she gets a break from playing board games and finding lost toys, she writes young adult fantasy with a strong thread of fairy tale romance. Her debut novel, Common, won the Christian Editor Connection’s Excellence in Editing Award, placed third in the Christian Women Reader’s Club Literary Lighthouse Awards, and is a finalist in the ACFW Carol Awards. She has short stories published in Mythical DoorwaysEncircled, and the upcoming Christmas Fiction off the Beaten Path. Laurie is the Secretary of her local ACFW chapter and a co-founder of Lands Uncharted, a blog for fans of clean young adult speculative fiction. A Midwestern girl through and through, she currently lives in Minnesota with her husband and three children. Find out more by visiting www.laurielucking.com.

 

More from Laurie

Common started with the simple premise that I wanted to write a friendship-first romance that would be innocent enough for pre-teen readers, but complex enough for teens and adults to enjoy it, too! My love for fairy tales soon kicked in, inspiring a Cinderella-type dynamic of a secret friendship between a maid and a prince. Then came the “what if” questions. What if the king and queen arranged a betrothal between the prince and a foreign princess? What if the maid tried to help the prince find happiness with his new fiancée, but accidentally made things worse? What if she then discovered a plot against the royal family and was the only one who could stop it?

Looking back, it’s fascinating to see how my story expanded from a sweet romance to so much more. The romance is still there, prominent enough to satisfy any reader who loves rooting for a fun couple. But there’s also so much personal growth for my main character, who learns though her journey that even a lowly maid is anything but common and that the biggest challenges and disappointments we must overcome are preparing us for something better. I didn’t set out to include a spiritual thread, but my protagonist kept contemplating and reaching out to God until I finally realized her story wouldn’t work without a faith component. And that faith component led to an entire group of characters – spunky, mysterious nuns who now form the backbone of my entire Tales of the Mystics series.

The end result is an inspirational, romantic fantasy adventure perfect for fans of Melanie Dickerson, Anne Elisabeth Stengl, and Jody Hedlund’s new Lost Princesses series. Book Two is in progress, and I can’t wait to see how much it will change and develop along the way!

Blog Stops

Among the Reads, December 31

Books, Life, and Christ, December 31

My Devotional Thoughts, January 1

For the Love of Literature, January 2

Rory Lemond, January 2

Pause for Tales, January 3

Debbie’s Dusty Deliberations, January 3

Through the Fire Blogs, January 4

Texas Book-aholic, January 5

Library Lady’s Kid Lit, January 6

Rebecca Tews, January 6

Blossoms and Blessings, January 7

Emily Yager, January 7

Reading Is My SuperPower, January 8

Truth and Grace Homeschool Academy, January 9

Avid Reader Nurse, January 9

janicesbookreviews, January 10

Locks, Hooks and Books, January 11

For Him and My Family, January 11

Inklings and notions, January 12

A Reader’s Brain, January 13

Mary Hake, January 13

Giveaway

To celebrate her tour, Laurie is giving away a themed basket with a signed paperback copy of Common, a beaded velvet bookmark, a handmade book sleeve, and a wooden “Have courage & be kind” sign!!

Be sure to comment on the blog stops for nine extra entries into the giveaway! Click the link below to enter.

https://promosimple.com/ps/f38c/common-celebration-tour-giveaway

Posted in 2020 Home School Review Crew Posts, Home School Review Crew Posts, Homeschooling, Online Homeschool Programs, Uncategorized

Review of the Ultimate PreK-12 Annual Membership from SchoolhouseTeachers.com

Disclaimer: I received a FREE copy of this product through the HOMESCHOOL REVIEW CREW in exchange for my honest review. I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way.

 

Screen Shot 2020-01-08 at 8.39.25 PM

My daughter is loving the variety of High School courses available with the High School courses from the Ultimate PreK-12 Annual Membership from SchoolhouseTeachers.com..  For a number of years our family has benefited from the resources and courses available within this online subscription.  Whether I am looking for resources and courses for our children or I am looking for resources for myself, this site has a lot to offer.

Screen Shot 2020-01-08 at 8.41.21 PM

From core courses to electives,SchoolhouseTeachers.com has all kinds of choices to select from no matter what topic or age you are searching for or desire.  One of my favorite things about this site is how they are always updating their site and constantly are adding more value for their subscribers.

On the site you will find Online Classes, Online Electives, Elementary Homeschool Courses, Middle School Homeschool Courses, High School Homeschool Courses, Homeschool parent support, access to RightNow Media material, access to World Book material, even Homeschool Planners and more.  There is also a forum where you can connect with other homeschooling parents.

Screen Shot 2020-01-09 at 9.13.02 AM

Because I am only homeschooling high school students currently, that is the section where I spend the bulk of my time.  From courses to electives to even concepts like starting a micro business, a wealth of information is presented. Here you can see some of the topics available  for high school students and parents.

High School.png

From courses with customizable lesson plans for subjects like French which our daughter wanted to study, to science courses for our son, I always can find something for our family to use.  Our daughter prefers to do work on paper rather than looking at a computer screen typically, so when preparing for the school year I printed everything out for her.  Since we are currently in flux preparing for a cross-country move, she has not actually started the French program yet in depth.  However, she has spent some time looking over the materials and feels confident she will learn a lot from this course.

I love having the freedom and flexibility to adapt the courses to our family’s needs.  Whether we want to complete a course faster than the suggested schedule or at a slower pace, we can adapt the plans on the site to meet our family’s needs.

Another section I spend a lot of time visiting is the sections devoted just to parents.  From planners to teaching tips to other helpful information including resources on marriage,  a wealth of information is available.   I love not having to search all over the Internet to find insights and useful information for our family.  Here is a sample of a marriage resource included on the site.

Screen Shot 2020-01-09 at 9.34.08 AM

So whether you are looking for a site that will provide all of your curriculum needs or you want to supplement your current curriculum, or you looking for a specific subject, the Ultimate PreK-12 Annual Membership from SchoolhouseTeachers.com.has something to offer you.  So check it out for yourself.

You can find SchoolhouseTeachers.com on Social Media at the following places:Facebook: Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/groups/SchoolhouseTeachers/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/TOSMag/
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/tosmag/    TAG your pins:  @tosmag

Other members of the Home School Review Crew are sharing their experiences with the Ultimate PreK-12 Annual Membership from SchoolhouseTeachers.com this week, so click here or on the graphic below to read their reviews.

2-Click-Here-to-Read-More-Reviews-2016