Review of Apologia Educational Ministries’ Marine Biology 2nd Edition Advantage Set

 

 

apologia20logo_zpsqopxqez2

marine20biology20student20textbook_zps1yhzv3lf1

marine20biology20student20notebook_zpsvmdjkqwr1

Ever since our family began homeschooling about eleven years ago, science. has been a course I have looked to Apologia Educational Ministries for our textbooks, notebooking ideas and more.  Looking for a homeschool marine biology course? I suggest Marine Biology 2nd Edition Advantage Set from Apologia Educational Ministries.  Ever since I met my husband twenty-six years ago, he has expressed an interest in Marine Biology.  At several points, he even considered pursuing it as a career.  So when I saw the opportunity come up to review this course, I immediately called my husband to see if he would be interested in reviewing it.  He answered with a resounding yes.

For this review, we received the hardback textbook with over 500 pages, the student notebooking journal, the tests, the solutions, and tests manual as well as the Marine Biology 2nd Edition Audio CD read by Marissa Leinhart. This course is meant to be done after completing a traditional Biology course as well as Algebra I.

img_0450

Apologia Educational Ministries offers a range of products and services including science courses for elementary school through high school, resources for writing or reading or literature as well as ones designed for parents.  I love the variety and the quality of the products offered.

As I previously stated, my husband was the one to use the materials.  However, I did listen to the audio cd with him.  So here is his review of the textbook and notebooking journal.  At this time, he is not planning on using the tests since this is strictly for his own knowledge and interest.  We do plan on having our daughter, currently, a freshman in high school, do this course.

At first glance at the text book, I saw that it contained a lot of illustrations. That’s important because it captures the attention of the reader. As I endeavored into the text, I noticed that there are also a lot of bold lettering to identify key words and phrases. At the end of every segment, there are questions posted so that it would quiz the reader on what was read. This is all good so that the reader can learn as he or she reads the subject. Labs are also inserted in places that correspond to the information that has been read. This is good because it is a hands-on way to remember certain information. At the end of each module, there are also questions that are posed in a different manner than how the questions are stated in the material itself. This would enhance one’s mind to think of different ways of approaching information and help to remember important facts.

 

The student notebook is exceptionally great in the fact that it follows the text book on every question and Lab. There is also a reading plan to follow which makes it easy to develop a plan of action for the student. Grading tips are also given to help the instructor. What is extremely helpful are tools recommended to use to take notes, a place to answer questions from the text, fill in the blank questions, and recording Lab data.

 

The Solutions and Tests come in a separate softcover book.  This solutions manual includes helpful information to use before beginning the course including grading and course administration.  The solutions for the study guide are included as well as the answers for the summary of each module.  There are also blank copies of the tests (which can also be found in the separate test booklet) as well as the solutions for the tests themselves.  These are laid out in a manner that makes it easy to find when looking for something.

My husband, who reviewed this product, highly recommends the setup of the text and student notebook. He truly is excited about it and is looking forward to continuing the course.

The Marine Biology 2nd Edition Audio CD is meant to only be used on computers and does not play on regular CD players.  So this could be a disadvantage for those who prefer to listen to audio on a regular CD player.  At first, I downloaded the files to my computer and tried to play them for my husband and myself.  However, doing it that way meant I had to click on each individual file.  Later, I decided to download the files to my computer and then upload them to my iTunes account.  Once I did that, it was easier to manage the files.  Also, by doing it this way, we can hook my tablet or phone to the audio system and listen while driving.  We both thought Marissa Leinhart did an excellent job reading the textbook.  My husband was pleased he could listen while looking at the textbook to follow along.  I strongly recommend getting the audio version along with the set.

img_0451

Once again, we really recommend the Marine Biology 2nd Edition Advantage Set from Apologia Educational Ministries.  If you want to read other reviews of this product, click here or on the image below.

2 Click Here to Read More Reviews 2016_zpsmmmkbumm

320crew20disclaimer202016_zpscwpb9ywe

 

 

 

SaveSaveSaveSaveSaveSave

SaveSaveSaveSave

Leave a Reply

