Review of Everyday Homemaking’s Everyday Cooking

everyday20homemaking20logo_zpsw0xn2s6n

 

everyday20cooking20blue20cooking20cover_zpsqbnu3khh

 

 

 

everyday20cooking20red20cover_zps9zemzchy

As a homeschooling family, my husband and I recognize the need for our children to learn the traditional subjects such as Bible, Mathematics, Language Arts, History, and Science.  But we also realize they need to be able to function in the real world as well.  So I was thrilled for our family to have the opportunity to review the Everyday Cooking cookbooks.   I have to say I love the Everyday Cooking cookbook from Everyday Homemaking because she cooks like me!  For the purpose of this review, we received both cover choices as downloadable products.  I decided to download it to my Ipad to make it easy to access the recipes.  I also printed it out and then took it to be spiral bound. You have the Joyce of either blue or red for the cover. You can buy either a downloadable version or a printed version.

Considering our youngest child is almost 15 and our oldest is twenty-one and the other two are almost 17 and 19, we realize they will be living on their own sooner rather than later.  To this end, we have them help around the house.  For whatever reason, my older two received more cooking opportunities because they were in the Boy Scouts.  Our youngest son, the one almost 17 also had opportunities to cook as well.  However, our daughter, being the baby of the bunch, is lacking in the area of cooking.  So I knew these cookbooks would be perfect for her.

The recipes are easy to follow and contain foods that my children actually may eat.  When we started looking through the cookbook, I did run into one problem, however.  That problem was there were too many recipes my younger two liked, so it was hard for them to narrow down what they wanted to try cooking.  One thing that made me very happy was most of the recipes could be adapted to accommodate our oldest son who is extremely lactose-intolerant.

Several of her recipes are very similar to ways I already cook, so we decided to try the Pork Loin Roast since we had a roast already in our freezer.  Unfortunately, I forgot to take pictures of the roast.  But here is a picture of someone’s plate that includes the sides we served with the meal.

img_0066

Another recipe we decided to try was the Veggie Saute since we were fixing a homemade Chinese dinner.  For this, we did two separate sides.  The first contained zucchini squash with onions that were served with soy sauce to resemble the Japanese “french fries” served at our favorite Japanese steakhouse.  The second was cabbage that also was cooked with onions and served with soy sauce.  Here are pictures of the children preparing the vegetables and then my daughter cooking the zucchini and onions.

 

Another recipe that was easy for us to fix was the Simple Salmon.  Although the recipe called for the salmon to be cooked in an electric skillet, pan seared or baked, our family cooked ours on the grill.  Living in southeastern Texas, I love to have my husband cook on the grill as often as possible to avoid heating up our house with the stove or oven.  Here are some pictures of the salmon.  Because the recipe called for citrus grill seasoning or lemon pepper, which members of my family do not care for, we used dill seasoning and salt and pepper.

 

I have to say I really enjoyed these cookbooks.  I love that in addition to the recipes, Vicki Bentley provides low-carb and gluten free helps, basic measurements and helps, meal planning and shopping hints, sample menus and meal planning masters, Basic cooking skills checklists, basic kitchen accessories, kitchen equipment information and more.  I definitely plan on incorporating these cookbooks into our school plans for this year.

In addition to the cookbooks, a chore system is also available.  If you would like to read more reviews about the Everday Cooking cookbooks or the Everyday Family Chore System from Everyday Homemaking, click here or on the graphic below.

2 Click Here to Read More Reviews 2016_zpsmmmkbumm

320crew20disclaimer202016_zpscwpb9ywe

2 thoughts on “Review of Everyday Homemaking’s Everyday Cooking

  1. I’m so glad you enjoyed the cookbook! Your dishes look wonderful, and I’m always excited to see families cooking together! (And just so you don’t think you made a printing error: There is just one cookbook, with two cover choices; while the covers are different colors, the content is identical.) Thanks bunches for your review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

