Review for Lamplighter Publishing’s The Secret Bridge

secret20bridge20cover2_zps8hkgjeyb

I was so excited to receive my copy of  The Secret Bridge from Lamplighter Publishing and begin reading this one myself.  When we first began our homeschooling journey over 10 years ago, Lamplighter Publishing was one of the first companies I developed an extreme fondness for at our first homeschooling convention.  Their books look like they belong on the most beautiful bookcase shelves one can find.  So when I received my copy of The Secret Bridge, I immediately allotted time for me to read the book first.  I must say this book definitely does not disappoint.

The cover is a beautiful shade of blueish-green leather with rich embossing on the cover.  The gold background framing the cover is stunning.  The paper has a rich and luxurious feel.  It is a book definitely meant for display rather than one to be hidden away. Lamplighter Publishing aims to develop “Christlike character one story at a time, and this book definitely fulfills that aim.

The story opens with descriptions and observations of the male protagonist in the story.  Godfrey Bullingham who is on a ship observing the female protagonist Bridget Channing, who is traveling alone.  Immediately, I was drawn into the world of these two characters.  The descriptions and details made me feel as though I was actually present in the story.

Bridget Channing finds herself penniless and alone and determined to make it on her own. Godfrey Bullingham feels the need to care for Bridget.  Bridget has a determined and practical nature that will not let her accept the kindness of strangers.  But Godfrey perseveres and convinces Bridget to marry him.  Because Godfrey must go away, he tucks Bridget away with some kind strangers to her, who live near Godfrey’s parents.  He tells her to win the affections of his family and once he returns they will tell them of their marriage.  Secrets help to complicate what otherwise might have been a simple life.


This book contains twists and turns that keep the book interesting.  Some I wished to be the case, and others came as somewhat as a prize.  The one thing this book, like every other Lamplighter Publishing book I have read, include a robust and unmistakable Christian message.  In this case, Bridget learns about God and Jesus Christ and comes to lean on Him.  She eventually develops a genuine and meaningful relationship with God and Jesus Christ.  Because I do not wish to give the plot away further and spoil the book, I will leave the story line there.  I will say the chapters are reasonable in length.  I found nothing objectionable in the story or plot.  It was an easy and enjoyable book to read.

My second son who is 18-years-old also read the book.  It did not take him an unusually long time to read it either.   As he read the book, he frequently commented about how he was enjoying the book.  He found the plot twist and turns enjoyable as well.

In the future, I will have my 16-year-old son and 14-year-old daughter read this book as well.  It would also make an excellent book for reading aloud.  My one wish is for Lamplighter Publishing to eventually make this book one of their audio dramas.  It would definitely be fantastic to listen to while traveling.  I highly recommend this book.

If you wish to read more reviews on The Secret Bridge by Lamplighter Publishing, either click here or on the graphic below.

2 Click Here to Read More Reviews 2016_zpsmmmkbumm

320crew20disclaimer202016_zpscwpb9ywe

Leave a Reply

