A Perfect Recipe

    img_2047

Have you ever tried a recipe and had it taste it exactly like you want it to taste?  This week, my mother gave me a belated Christmas present.  I received the Pioneer Woman’s plates, salad plates, bowls, tumblers and two coffee mugs.  The funny part about it is my meal plan for dinner that day included a Pioneer Woman recipe for Spicy Dr. Pepper Pork.  We were missing one ingredient -a can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce.  But, I decided to make it without them.  Boy, was I glad I did since it still turned out amazing.  This recipe was so simple to make.  You basically cut up an onion and put it in the bottom of your dish you want to cook the meat in, then rub the pork with salt and pepper before laying it on top of the onions.  Then you would add the can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce.  Finally, you pour in two cans of Dr. Pepper.  I used our eight-quart oval dutch oven to bake it in the 400-degree oven.  Then it just cooks for at least six hours.

img_2048

When it was done, we took it out of the oven and with two forks, I was able to shred the pork with absolutely no problems at all.  The flavor was amazing.  The amount of meat was incredible.  We probably would be able to use it for at least three separate meals, which as a homeschooling family means a lot.  So if your family likes pork and Dr. Pepper (even if you have not tried them together), try this recipe, you will not regret it.

img_2049

The next time I make it, I definitely plan on using the peppers, so I will update then on the difference in taste.

For now, happy cooking, meal planning, and eating.  What are you eating this week?  I would love to hear from you.

 

Leave a Reply

