Homeschool Review Crew: for SchoolhouseTeachers.com

 

Several months ago, I was privileged to be invited to become part of the Homeschool Review Crew and today I am excited to be posting my first review for the Crew.  Our family is so excited to be reviewing the Yearly Membership from SchoolhouseTeachers.com.  SchoolhouseTeachers.com ~ http://www.schoolhouseteachers.com

This site has received a makeover, and it definitely does not disappoint. I am reviewing the Yearly Membership.

schoolhouse20teachers20logo_zpsx0v7ehqv

This site provides a wealth of information for homeschooling families.  There are online courses, elementary courses, middle school homeschool classes, and high school homeschool classes.  I loved all the content available on the site and was especially pleased to see an Algebra course available for our youngest son who is 16.  He had been using a different math program and when we reached the section on polynomials, he experienced some difficulty with the information provided.  I knew we needed to find something different to help, so I logged in to see what I could find for my son to use.

img_2010
I found an Algebra course available and downloaded the required materials.  Once I had the materials downloaded, I found the section on polynomials and printed out only those sections we needed.  I loved how everything needed was contained on one page.  Every course provides a page that includes sections on how to use the course, course introductions, and a course outline.  I found these to be extremely helpful, considering I was only using part of the course.

My son found the materials to be easy to understand.  He was pleased with the materials and with his ability to grasp the material.  As a former high school math teacher, I was pleased with the material selected, the level of difficulty and the quality of the answer keys.  Once my son completed the required work for the section, he was able to demonstrate mastery of the subject which pleased me.  While we only used one section of this course, it definitely would have been an excellent Algebra course to prepare a student for future math courses.

schoolhouse20teachers20for20high20school_zpsjmrxbhok

Courses are available for all ages and for all types of subjects.  I plan on utilizing this site for my 14-year-old daughter to learn French.  I am also exploring the possibility of using the site for Science courses and electives.  This site is a valuable resource for homeschooling families with children of all ages.

The site provides sections for browsing by grade, browsing by subject, planning, resources, videos, and media.  These are all provided at the top of the screen to provide easy navigation.  In the planning section, the various Schoolhouse planners may be downloaded for use.  These planners look like an amazing resource with loads of additional information as well as space for planning.  There is a custom schedule builder, recordkeeping through Applecore – a very useful and friendly planning tool, a section just for parents, a literacy section, a section for high school help along with other sections.  I found the high school help section valuable since all three of our children I am homeschooling are in high school currently.

A tutorial section is also provided which includes a welcome, Scope and sequence information, for high school, for lesson plans, for the Preschool Playground, Focused Learning centers and more.  The videos do an excellent job of giving an overview of the topic being covered.  I watched the video for Lesson Plans.  It was easy to understand and user-friendly.

Here is a view of the type of courses available.

schoolhouse20teachers20subject20selections_zps7gti8t8n

This is definitely a resource I would highly recommend to any homeschooling families.  I feel it is an excellent value for the price.  Through the 15th of January, the price is either $9.95 for the monthly plan, using the code “CHRISTMAS” or $90 for a year using the code “CHRISTMASYEAR”.  After the 15th, the price for the monthly membership will increase to $19.95, so go ahead and take advantage of the lower price.

schoolhouse20teachers20christmas20sale20ends201520january_zpspqrzboip

Click on the image below to read more reviews.

220click20here20to20read20more20reviews202016_zpsmmmkbumm

Leave a Reply

