A New Year and a New Blog Challenge

happy2017

So another year has passed and yesterday, we said our fond farewells to 2016.  Today, a brand new year began – full of possibilities and opportunities.  One of those opportunities for me is participating in the Ultimate Blog Challenge again.  I love participating in these challenges because it causes me to focus more on my blogging.  I love sharing different things that are going on with our family and in our lives.

This time last year, we were still living in Pennsylvania preparing for a move to Texas.  Shortly into 2016, we finally received notification we had orders.  If you are joining from the Ultimate Blog Challenge, let me tell you a little about our family.  I have been married to my husband for 24 years.  We have four children ages 20 – 14.  The older three are all boys.  The youngest is our only girl.  Since our oldest was in fifth grade, we have homeschooled our children.

My husband is an ordained Primitive Baptist preacher and currently serves in the United States Army Reserves full-time.  I enjoy reading, blogging, Bible study and spending time with my family.

This was our first Christmas in Texas and I really enjoyed the quiet nature of our holiday.  Time and distance did not allow us to go home to my husband’s family for Christmas.  So we spent the time with just the seven of us.  Oh yes, I forgot to mention that my mom lives with us.  She has for several years now.  It leads to interesting experiences and excitement.

Today we enjoyed a traditional southern New Years Day feast – including black-eyed peas, collard greens, ham and deviled eggs.  We also enjoyed beets, olives, pickles, and cornbread.  I was blessed by my husband preparing our meal today.  He enjoys cooking sometimes and I enjoy eating his food.

So what is going on with you today?  How did you spend your holidays?  I would love to hear from you.

 

2 thoughts on “A New Year and a New Blog Challenge

  1. Home-schooling a very brave decision. I don’t know whether I could ever dare to take the step. It would be interesting to know how you are going about it. Looking forward to reading your posts throughout UBC.
    I spent my holidays with my family – the best thing to do isn’t it?

    Do take a look at my latest post for UBC: https://diaryofaninsanewriter.wordpress.com/2017/01/01/my-husband-i-are-incompatible-is-my-marriage-successful/

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by. We made the decision to homeschool when we recognized there was no other reasonable or viable alternative. It was not what we planned on doing or expected to do, but it has been a tremendous blessing to our family. I have learned to never speculate whether I could do something or not because words have a way of coming back.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

