Thankful for our Thanksgiving

write365reducedsize

THANKSGIVINGPSALM2101 7014

So this was our first Thanksgiving spent west of the Mississippi.  We had a quiet time at home with our children and my mom along with one of my husband’s co-workers.  In typical holiday fashion, we fixed too much food.  We had a true southern Thanksgiving feast including turkey, ham, mashed potatoes, stuffing, gravy, olive tray, green beans, collard greens and black-eyed peas.  My husband even prepared cornbread, and I prepared dressing as well because I fixed more stuffing than our turkey could hold.  We all indulged so much, we skipped dessert.  This is the first time in many years, I did not watch the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade.  We have not been watching a lot of live television.  Instead, we have been watching Netflix, Amazon Prime, Feeln, and the Dove channel on my Roku.  I find  the lack of commercials refreshing.

One of the main reasons I watch a parade is to see the bands.  But it seems that lately, the networks prefer to show their commentators more than the actual parade.  I know how much time, effort and money these bands exert to get to a parade like the Macy’s parade, so I find it insulting that the channels prefer to show their own people or other celebrities more than those who are actually in the parade.  So I turned it off.

The best part of the whole day was spending time with our family.  Since our oldest is 20 years old and our youngest is 14, I know these family holidays with everyone home will fast fade into memory.  So I treasure these moments and am thankful for my family and my children.

Here are some pictures of our feast.

Here is some of the finished food on the counter.

img_1780

 Here is our table.

img_1770

 Here is our turkey after cooking and with the stuffing before my husband cut it up.

img_1763

 Here are the deviled eggs we made.

img_1759

 Here is the black-eyed peas with ham.

c2f58cbd-73aa-41cc-8ce0-3453a25896ca

 Here are the collard greens with ham.

11a7cf1b-632e-4d3a-addf-a71b329526ac

 And finally here is the turkey before cooking or stuffing.

0f0f4663-1cd5-4ffa-9a7f-39777847dfb3

 For those of you who celebrated Thanksgiving, what are you thankful for?  I would love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

