“A” is for Apologia or Alpha Omega Publishing, and ACE Paces

Psalm 37 4

I am getting ready to join the “A to Z Blog Challenge for April and so I thought I would begin with two of my favorite homeschool curriculum providers.  Nine school years ago we began our homeschooling journey.  I was brand new to the realm of homeschooling.  The only people I had ever known who homeschooled were two of my husband’s relatives.  Our oldest son was in the 5th grade and a situation came up with his teacher that forced us to make the decision to homeschool.  We were thrust into the world very unexpectedly and I had to scramble to get things together.

Fortunately, we lived in a military community in North Carolina so I found a fantastic support group.  We started our homeschooling journey in the middle of September and the ladies in the support group provided an incredible wealth of knowledge.  They recommended these three companies to me.  I started with the Alpha Omega Life Pacs.  The Life Pacs come in a set of ten workbook for the five subjects of Bible, Math, History, Science and English.   Both Alpha Omega and ACE (or School of Tomorrow) are able to be purchased as single workbooks rather than sets.  So I was able to order these only a few workbooks at a time.  This kept the cost within  our budget.  I also purchased several workbooks from the

I love the resources from Apologia for Science.  When I realized regular workbooks were not exactly what my son needed at the time, I bought the Apologia “Exploring Creation with Astronomy for Young Explorers” by Jeannie Fulbright to use for Science.  This book includes reading, hands on activities , narration activities along with other ways to demonstrate the child has mastered the material. High School science books are also provided.

Over the years, Alpha Omega Publications have added a Worldview Curriculum along with selling Homeschool planners and other books for Homeschooling parents.  It truly is a wonderful company that has been a blessing to our family.

After our first year of homeschooling, we brought our other three children home to school and have not looked back a day since.  We enjoy having our children at home and the freedom and flexibility it provides.

Now I used Monarch by Alpha Omega Publications, which is an online curriculum for some of our subjects.  I love the convenience of having it online.  The children utilize laptop computers to do their work.  Once they complete a subject, I can immediately see what they have done.

Well I hope you have enjoyed reading about these companies.  If you homeschool, what do you use?

2 thoughts on ““A” is for Apologia or Alpha Omega Publishing, and ACE Paces

  1. Popping in for a visit from A-to-Z … I’m also a homeschooling mom. I’ve got five kids, (ages 11-16). We love Life of Fred for math, Apologia for Science and lots of literature based history and language arts. Looking forward to more posts from you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

