My Word for the Year

So all over the place recently, I have seen mention of choosing one word for the year as an alternative to making resolutions.  It is all about choosing the one word that God speaks to a person’s heart.  Or maybe God leads someone else to help pick a word.

So I have read about it all over Facebook and in various online communities I am part of now.  But I could not really decide if it was the right thing for me or not.  Until yesterday.  Along with reading about choosing a word, I had been looking into selecting a life verse.  Over the past year or so, I have played around with the idea of a life verse, but I didn’t get too far with it.  So yesterday, I started doing research.  I looked at blogs and websites and studied various verses.  I finally found several that really stood out to me.  But the one that really jumped off the page was Psalm 51:10 – “Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me.”

This verse speaks to everything I pray for 2015.  I want to “create”.  I want to create memories with my family and create bonds with our children.  I want to “create” a haven in our home.  I want to create blog posts and see where blogging takes me.  I want to create quilts and crocheted blankets for my family and others.  I want to create ideas and write them down on paper.  I want to “create” a deeper and more satisfying relationship with God and with studying my Bible.  So I have selected #create as my word for the year.

Have you selected a word for 2015?  If you have, I would love to hear it.

#OneWord365

Leave a Reply

